The first record of Edgmont Township dates from 1686,
when Joseph Baker was listed as Constable for Gilead, the original
name for Edgmont and a portion of Thornbury Townships. The name Edgmont
was adopted in 1687, and derives from the Royal Manor of Edgmond in
Shropshire from which the Bakers emigrated. Early documents spell
it "Edgemond", "Edgmond", "Edgemont"
or "Edgmont", with the Township officially settling on "Edgmont"
in the nineteenth century. Incorporated as a
township in 1687.
The property the course is on was in the Sill family
from 1719 to 1926. A colonial highway ran along the John Sill Estate.
This road today is known as West Chester Pike or Route 3. James
Sill, son of John, inherited the 183 acre estate at the time of
his father’s
death in 1774. ( A stone dated 1791 is preserved in the dining room
floor of the Club house.) Many families resided in the estate after
the Sill Family including the Eisenhower's.
Mr. & Mrs Donald Barrows owned the estate in the
early 1960's and sold it to a group organized by Tanino "Tiny"
Pedone. Here is an aerial photo of the property in 1959. Tiny was a Pro who worked at Overbrook and Kimberton. He envisioned
a top notch affordable private golf club for the average golfer. The
Barrows estate was a perfect start for a course. Like many of the famous
golf courses around the world the course was named after the local
area "Edgmont", without the middle "e".
Frank & Nazz Mariani of Nazz Mariani Company became
partners in the project and did the construction of the course which
started in April of 1963. Nazz Mariani provided the needed excavation
experience to carve the 18 hole golf course out of the rolling hills
and wooded countryside along the picturesque Ridley Creek Valley.
He moved over 500,000 cubic yards of earth to execute Tiny's vision
of what the course should be. The site was so perfect for a golf course,
with the Mansion becoming the 7700 square foot club house and the
stables becoming the Pro Shop and men's locker room, that only one
building had to be built which was a small pump house to protect the
heart of the "state of the art" irrigation system.
The course opened for limited play on August 21, 1964 and opened to full play in April 1965.Here is an aerial photo of the property in 1965 At approximately the same time,
the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania purchased the land adjacent to the
Club which was to become the 2600 acre Ridley
Creek State Park. The Park provides a breathtaking back drop,
free of housing developments, for the golfer and social visitor alike.
The course was substantially renovated
starting in 2004. The "state of the art" irrigation system
from the 1960s was replaced with a wireless computer controlled
one for the 21st century. The cart paths were replaced, widened
and lengthened and all of the sand traps were redone and some relocated.
The Edgmont Country Club has always been very active
in using golf to help charities. Starting in 1967 with a visit
from Bob
Hope for a benefit for the blind golfers and since 1978 has
been to home for the Edgmont Classic
which benefited the Arthritis Foundation and starting in 2005 is
benefiting local branches of the Special Olympics.
In 2007 The United States Blind Golf Association
(USBGA) held its 62nd
National Championship at Edgmont. This was the
40th anniversary of Bob Hope for the Blind tournament
In 2010 The United States Blind Golf Association
(USBGA) returned to hold its 65th
National Championship at Edgmont.
In 2013 the Club celebrated the 50th anniversary of its founding.
In 2014 the Club celebrate the 50th anniversary of its opening for play.
The course has been family owned and operated since
its inception.